Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10k – NYC SWIM photos

Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)
Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)
Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)
Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM)

NYC SWIM photos, a set on Flickr.

Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10K (NYC SWIM) Saturday, September 22, 2012

I started doing Triathlons this year (2012) and found some nice organizations that offer open water swim. NYC Swim organizes events in the waters of New York City. Although, I’ve volunteered for NYRR, NYC Runs, CIBBOWS; NYC SWIM offers the opportunity to volunteer as a photographer. I registered applied and the profile got approved after several days, was a little afraid that I may get rejected, but I was approved to volunteer as a photographer. I was pretty excited because I love both activities (photography and swimming). Trying to volunteer for the event was not easy it took a few emails to coordinate, because I also had a previous event at the 5th Avenue Mile presented by Nissan (NYRR event). The organizers were pretty flexible and helped me decide to do the finish part of the event instead of the start. Since I’ve never done the 5th Avenue Mile event, I was confused on the start time of my wave. The week of the Little Red Lighthouse Swim 10k event, I found out my wave would start at 10:10 am. I had enough time to find my cheering group (14 year-old, 8 year-old kids and hubby) and moved our way up to Dyckman Street. We managed to get there with a few minutes to buy lunch, something to drink and for me to check-in. I was assigned to the Goody Bag, Hospitality Tent. My assignment was to capture swimmers opening their goody bags, preferably with the NYC SWIM backdrop on the background. It was kind of challenging at the beginning trying to capture the swimmers without something on their cheeks while chewing the bagels, and fruits. But some swimmers came back to pose and told me “now we don’t have anything on our month, you can take our picture now”. The volunteers were helpful and tried to please the swimmers request on shirt size and congratulated them for their finish. Hope I can get to volunteer at another NYC Swim event, maybe even participate on one if I find the time to train and improve my swim time and distance.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/lightatmywindow/sets/72157631631792204/show/

This entry was posted in Other's work. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

